News & Articles

Chief Administrative Officer at the University of Toronto Mary C. Lyne joins Swimming Canada Board of Directors

News –

OTTAWA – Mary C. Lyne was named the newest member of Swimming Canada’s Board of Directors on Wednesday, while Dean Crawford and Peter Szmidt were elected to return to the Board for another three-year term.

Elected at the Annual General Meeting, the Board plays a critical role in implementing a strategic direction for Canadian swimming that reflects core organizational values.

Lyne, the Chief Administrative Officer for the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto, will bring her expertise in strategic planning, financial management, human resources, and governance to the Board.

“We are very pleased to welcome Mary to Swimming Canada’s Board of Directors,” said Cheryl Gibson, President of Swimming Canada. “Mary is a proven leader and accomplished business executive and her expertise will be counted on in setting Swimming Canada’s strategy over the next few years.”

Lyne was a former competitive swimmer and member of the University of Toronto Varsity Blues swim team when they won national titles in 1982, 1983, and 1984. She still remains engaged and passionate about the sport by volunteering and officiating at swim meets during her spare time.

Dean Crawford will begin another three-year term as Vice President of the Board. As chair of the Swimming Canada Policy and Governance Committee, Crawford will continue to bring strong skills and knowledge in the areas of policy development and corporate governance.

Peter Szmidt also a former swimmer and member of the 1980 and 1984 Olympic team, will return for another three-year team and continue to help the Board in the areas of business and high performance.

Lyne, Crawford, and Szmidt join incumbent Directors: Cheryl Gibson (President), Yves Lorange (Secretary), Doug Bird, Elizabeth Burke-Gaffney, Michael Edgson, and Danièle Sauvageau.